Skip to main content

Glenn D. Steele, Jr., M.D., Ph.D.

Chairman, GSteele Health Solutions

Glenn D. Steele Jr., MD, PHD serves as Chairman of GSteele Health Solutions, an independently operated venture launched to help healthcare organizations create value and improve quality. He is the former President and Chief Executive Officer of Geisinger Health System (2001-2015), an integrated health services organization in central and northeastern Pennsylvania nationally recognized for its innovative use of the electronic health record and the development and implementation of innovative care models.

In addition, Dr. Steele serves as Chairman of City of Hope. He joined the City of Hope Board of Directors in January of 2016. Prior to becoming Chairman, he was Chair of the Executive Compensation and Governance Committee from 2018-2020.

Dr. Steele previously served as the dean of the Biological Sciences Division and the Pritzker School of Medicine and vice president for medical affairs at the University of Chicago, as well as the Richard T. Crane Professor in the Department of Surgery. Prior to that, he was the William V. McDermott Professor of Surgery at Harvard Medical School, president and chief executive officer of Deaconess Professional Practice Group, and chairman of the department of surgery at New England Deaconess Hospital. Dr. Steele is past Chairman of the American Board of Surgery. His investigations have focused on the cell biology of gastrointestinal cancer and pre-cancer and most recently on innovations in healthcare delivery and financing. A prolific writer, he is the author or co-author of more than 500 scientific and professional articles.

Dr. Steele received his bachelor’s degree in history and literature from Harvard College and his medical degree from New York University School of Medicine. He completed his internship and residency in surgery at the University of Colorado, where he was also a fellow of the American Cancer Society. He earned his Ph.D. in microbiology at Lund University in Sweden.

A member of the National Academy of Medicine, Dr. Steele has served as a member on the Roundtable on Value and Science-driven Healthcare, the Committee on the Governance and Financing of Graduate Medical Education, the Vital Directions for Health and Health Care Steering Committee and the Committee on Reviewing Evidence to Identify Highly Effective Clinical Services (HECS). A fellow of the American College of Surgeons, Dr. Steele is a member of the American Surgical Association, the American Society of Clinical Oncology, and past president of the Society of Surgical Oncology. Additionally, Dr. Steele serves as an advisor on the private equity firm LRVHealth.

Dr. Steele serves on the following boards and national committees: AccessHope Board of Directors, Bucknell University Board of Trustees (Emeritus), Cleerly Health, Innovaccer Advisory Board, Marathon Health Board of Directors, MITRE Health Advisory Committee, PTC Therapeutics Board of Directors, Stanford Board of Fellows, and the Peterson Center on Healthcare Advisory Board. Dr. Steele formerly served on the following boards: Agency for Integrated Care (AIC) Singapore, Cepheid Board of Directors, Harvard Medical Faculty Physicians Board at Beth Israel Deaconess Medical Center, Health Transformation Alliance, Healthcare Innovation Program (HIP) External Advisory Board (Emory University), Ingenious Med Board of Directors, Premier, Inc. Board (Chairman 2011-2013), Stratus Video, Synaptive Medical, Synzi, Temple University School of Medicine Board of Visitors, Weis Markets, Inc., Wellcare Health Plans Inc. Board of Directors, xG Health Solutions (Chairman), Congressional Budget Office Panel of Health Advisers, Commonwealth Fund’s Commission on a High Performance Health System, and American Hospital Association (AHA) Board of Trustees.

Dr. Steele is the recipient of several awards, NYU School of Medicine’s Solomon A. Berson Medical Alumni Achievement Award in Health Science, Medicine and the Arts (2016); AHA’s Justin Ford Kimball Innovators Award (2015); NCHL Gail L. Warden Healthcare Leadership Award (2014); HFMA Board of Directors’ Award (2011); AHA Health Research & Education Trust Award (2010); AHA’s Grassroots Champion Award (2007); and CEO IT Achievement Award (2006). He has been named consecutive times to Modern Healthcare’s 50 Most Powerful Physician Executives in Healthcare, Modern Healthcare’s 100 Most Powerful People in Healthcare and Becker’s Hospital Review 100 Non-Profit Hospital Health System CEOs to-know List.

Careers with Purpose

Explore job opportunities at PTC

Three of PTC's scientists